atlas genius: think of the most harmless thing


Ah, the mind; playground for the fantastic, horrific and all those things in between. On the lighter side of horror, we’ve got imaginative concoctions like the Stay Puft Marshmellow Man of Ghostbusters. When was the last time you thought about that gem? Here’s a refresher.

While not a feature film, one of the darker tracks I think of when I think about the terrible power of the imagination is ‘It’s Thunder, It’s Lightning’ by We Were Promised Jetpacks. No, I’m not going to play it here (as I just realized I’ve never featured them and will be remedying that post-haste).

The reason I kicked this entry off is the newest song by Atlas Genius. It’s called ‘Trojans’ and is all about the concept of the evils of your mind lying in wait, hidden in an unsuspecting vessel of what seems to be a gift. Surprise, surprise, the chorus goes “there’s Trojans in my head.”

If you dig this, try their other material and check out the Official Atlas Genius Website.

Off the box,
mike EP

And, if you’re the singer-songwriter type or just the chance to hear all the lyrics clearly, here’s an acoustic of Trojans.

Atlas+Genius+imgatlasgenius_173036371842

