SXSW 2013: who to see and where to go (for FREE)


At 7:04 am this morning, I finished listening to every single last one of the 2013 SXSW showcasing artists. It took me two months and some change to get through the 1200+ bands and artists. Armed with the knowledge of whom to catch, here’s what I will now do for you.

I’m going to tell you
1. My list of acts to catch and
2. What free shows to attend.

For official SXSW showcases and SXSW parties, head on over to the SXSW official website.

1. My TOP 30: Here’s my list of top acts to catch (in alphabetical order).

Alt-J
Ambassadors
Barcelona
Balconies
Bernhoft
Cherub
David Ramirez
Delta Rae
Dessa
Gemini Club
Gonzalo Bergara Quartet
Half Moon Run
He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister
Hudson Taylor
Icona Pop
Jack Carty
Jackson Firebird
JMSN
Kassidy
Lake Street Dive
Lianne La Havas
Macklemore x Ryan Lewis
Mike & the Moonpies
MS MR
Neighbourhood
Noah Gundersen
Satchel Grande
Shakey Graves
Somebody’s Darling
ZZ Ward

2. Free shows to attend.

See you around town and hope this helps!

off the box,
mike EP

shades

