Jackson Firebird: Literally Cock Rocking


Cock rock sucks. Describes aptly so on its wiki page as a “style of rock music that emphasized an aggressive form of male sexuality”. Examples of such music include: Mötley Crüe, Ratt, Warrant, Extreme, Cinderella, Pretty Boy Floyd, Jackyl, L.A. Guns, and Poison. Just writing down those band names requires that I again say it; Cock rock sucks.

I have a visceral reaction to it. Mid-conversation, if I hear cock rock, my train of thought will be derailed and unable to return to the topic at hand until remarking on the violation being done to my senses by the trash that is coming from the speakers.

I could go on, but I think you get the idea. I do not like that kind of music. That said, I cannot tear my eyes away from this cock rock act. One thing I appreciate about them is that they own their genre like a WWF championship belt – touting in on high for all the world to see. Another thing – the drummer. He does this thing in their videos that is simple yet has the effect of watching a maniac at work. I watch this guy work and instantly am imagining Animal of the Muppets come to life. This guy doesn’t have your standard trap set.* He doesn’t have a snare or a kick drum or cymbals. He is sitting on his knees beating the crap out of a pair of objects laying on the ground and he is beating these random objects with his bare mitts. God damn gorilla this man.

Cock Rockin’ the video is a homage to the artistic variety of the male juvinele mind. The following videos show this two-man band in action and, I must say, they’re pretty damn good. I can’t say whether or not they could make the big time but I can without a doubt say that they will grab attention. They certainly got mine. I will certainly be looking for an opportunity to see them live.

Here’s a link to the Official Jackson Firebird Website.

Off the box,
mike EP

*In some of their pics, I see a drum set on stage, so I know that he does SOMETIMES play drums like most drummers. Oh well, at least he’s got a gimmick. I hope he does it in live shows!

jackson firebird

