Buke and Gass: coloring outside the box while thinking outside of the lines


Music association is the name of the game. When you’ve never heard of someone, its pretty standard to ask “Who do they sound like.” Without cheating and see what other music buffs or nuts have already said, I’d say that Buke and Gass give me similar feelings of different bands but I’m not sure I can put them in the same bucket as anyone else I listen to.

I’m not trying to be a hipster about this. I really and truly have no damned clue who they sound like. I mean, I could attempt to convince you they sound like almost anyone. That’s what abstract painters do right? They spew paint onto a canvas and then, from way up their on their elevated plain of intellectualism*, they passionately explain how the blob of nonsense you’re looking at is an apposition of man and god (whatever the hell that means).

The point I’m trying to arrive at is that this band has some wild stuff. That may, in part, be to the fact that they use some unorthodox instruments.

Check this (From their bandcamp page)

“Brooklyn-based BUKE (byook) & GASE (gace) are Arone Dyer on the “buke” (a self-modified six-string former baritone ukulele) and Aron Sanchez on the “gase” (a guitar-bass hybrid of his own creation).”

Nuff said.

Want more? Find more at the buke and gase official website.

Off the box,
mike EP

