He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister: From Under The Bridge to Austin City Limits


My favorite HMBSMS variety pack of songs include
– escape tonight
– Tales that I tell
– Clackin’ Heels
– I was born
– Moonage Daydream
– How’m I Gonna Get Back Home
– Straight Shooter

He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister is more than a band name, it’s a band member relational structure. Truth be told, it’s the short version. If it were the complete one, it would read “He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister, That’s My Landlord, She’s My Girlfriend and He’s My Friend.” It reads funny, but like all relationships, they usually make more sense once you get the full story.

Their sound is a mix of a great number of things; folk, pop, psychedelia, vaudeville and americana. It really is all over the place. And if you’re skeptical by the wild mesh of sounds or company of companions, then I suggest you give them a listen. I think you’ll be surprised not only by what you hear but what you see. A portion of the group (our two leading ladies) have theatrical backgrounds. As such, their shows and videos are not your standard rocking-out-with-wind-in-our-hair or artistic-symbolism-beyond-comprehension images. They are creative, fun and personal.

To sum up their story thus far, brother and sister Rob and Rachel Kolar began writing songs together in a rehearsal space for Rob’s other band. They had fun and seemed to be onto something. From there, friend Oliver, girlfriend Lauren (who runs a business with Rachel), and landlord Aaron all got involved.

To give you some snapshots of their bizarre life thus far, here are some tales. Their first show was literally under a bridge in L.A. to a group of homeless people. Someone should tell Red Hot Chili Peppers. I’m sure some interesting conversation between the two groups would ensue. Normally, I wouldn’t imagine the two bands sharing the same space, but they will be in the near future. You’ll find them both on stages at the Austin City Limits Music Festival come October.

Their second show was at “Slab City”. You won’t likely find it on most maps but the location would be familiar to many of you; a part of Into The Wild was filmed there. It was the part where Emile Hirsh is visiting that crazy off-the-grid community. They did SXSW earlier this, during which Rob’s leg was in a cast (a consequence of his antics playing in his roller hockey league).

If you like what you hear, you’ll be pleased to hear they are currently working on a full length album AND touring. Further dive down this folky and psychedelic rabbit hole at the He’s My Brother, She’s My Sister Official Website.

Off the box,
mike ep

